Museum of councils and Visigoth culture
A museum more than interesting for its unique and original content is known as the Museum of Councils and Visigoth culture, which houses the Church of San Román, which is a characteristic example of the first Mudejar Toledano (13th century), and collects important vestiges of the Former capital of the Visigoth Kingdom of Toledo.
The first documentary reference to the church appears in 1125, although it is possible that for its edification were used remains of another visigoth, or at least Muslim. Of this last supposition gave faith two tombstones here preserved until 1572, year when Philip II ordered to withdraw them. These tombstones attested to the use of the temple as a mosque not only in Muslim times, but even several years after the reconquest.
The year 1166 is especially important for the church, since its tower, the one who was mayor of Toledo and is buried here, Don Esteban Illán, proclaimed king Alfonso VII to the cry of Toledo, Toledo, Toledo by King Alfonso VIII!.
In the year 1221 it was reformed and consecrated to the Christian cult by the Archbishop Jiménez de Rada, although it was probably already used as a parish since some years before.
In the decade of the sixties of the last century the temple was adapted to locate in him the Museum of the Councils and Culture Visigoth, which houses interesting reproductions of the crowns of Guarrazar, as well as other valuable remainders coming from the Archaeological Museum.
Source: Jesús-José Sardinia Vozmediano