Mosque of the Cristo de la Luz
This is the only monument preserved prior to the Christian Reconquest of the city. The inscription that reads on its front facade is the unique reference on his antiquity, dating to end of 999 or principles of the 1000. According to this legend the one in charge of directing the construction was the architect Musa Ibn Ali, being financed by Ibn Hadidí, being this Last possibly of an important personage of the time.
On the same day of the Reconquest, on May 25, 1085, the building was dedicated to Christian worship, celebrating here, according to tradition, the first Mass. It is at this stage when the apse is added that served as a model for the rest of Toledo Mudejar churches, with a rich decoration of blind arches. The small floor of the temple (only 66’5 m. Square), is divided by four columns that form nine vaulted spaces separated by horseshoe arches.
There by the year 1186 the temple was donated by Don Alonso El Bueno to the knights of the Order of San Juan, as a thank you to the services rendered. The only condition is that this temple could not have parishioners or enjoy tithes and privileges like the other parishes of the city.
There are no more documentary data until the time of Cardinal Mendoza, when he recovered the building by restoring it and decorating it for worship.
In 1871 the architect López Sánchez discovered murals, very similar to other Romanesque-Mudejar ones appeared in the church of San Roman, in which in spite of its state of deterioration distinguish the figures of a prelate and four saints.
It was in the year 1900 when the old mosque was declared a National Monument.
Source: Jesús-José Cerdeño Vozmediano